About IPR Chair

    Prof.Dr. N S Gopalakrishnan, Co-ordinator, HRD Chair on IPR       essay writing service blog 24/7

       The Ministry of Human Resources Development, Department of Secondary & Higher Education, Government of India under its financial assistance programme established several HRD Chair on IPR in educational institutions with the objective of promoting IPR education and research. Based on the proposal from the Centre for IPR Studies, School of Legal Studies, the HRD Chair on IPR was sanctioned by the Department of Education, Government of India for the Cochin University of Science & Technology in March 2003.

        The objectives of the Chair in CUSAT as per the proposal are to undertake teaching, research, publications, organizing seminars and extension activities. The grant sanctioned by the Government of India is for setting up of Chair which inter-alia include one Professor, two Research Officers/Assistants, one Steno-cum-Documentation Assistant, one Group D staff, provision for library, equipments and other ancillary items. This is a recurring grant and to be claimed by the University every year by sending report of the activities, utilization and audited report of the funds received in the previous year with a budget proposal for the next year.  This gives the University maximum flexibility in utilizing the funds to achieve the objectives of the Chair.

       The Syndicate of the University in November 2003 decided to fill up the post of teaching staff based on UGC norms and administrative staff based on State Government norms. In the mean while the University in June 2003 directed Dr. N.S. Gopalakrishnan, School of Legal Studies to coordinate the activities of the Chair. Based on the University notification in 2004 Dr. N.S. Gopalakrishnan was appointed as Professor, IPR Chair in April 2005 on deputation and joined duty and is continuing. The other posts, one Research Officer and one Steno-cum-Documentation Assistant were also be filled up in 2005 on contract basis and the term of all the staff ends in March 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *